Why fantasy is important to teenagers as a genre?

My plan is to create a promotional poster for an animated series based on an original fantasy book I am writing. Although the poster will be for a TV series adaptation , I still definitely wanted elements of the book to show through even on the poster as a book is where it originated.

Since the book I am writing is heavily inspired by the fantasy genre of literature, I decided to research further into why fantasy is important in modern society- particularly why is it important to teenagers and adolescents. This age range is the target audience I wish to attract. Fantasy has become increasingly popular over the years especially among teenagers. If I can learn what draws young adults to fantasy books, this can help me when it comes to creating my poster as it will give me ideas of what to include.

The reason I decided to look into the literature element of fantasy whilst planning to produce a TV poster is to give me ideas for titles, fonts , popular themes, elements to include and also so I know when it comes to making the poster, what is important to teenagers and what can attract them to fantasy.

Why is fantasy an essential genre for young readers?

‘Sulari Gentill’ author of the ‘Hero’ fantasy book series, said that ‘adolescence is when you are most likely to believe in grand epics and ideals.’ He was clear that he didn’t mean that literature for young adults should tone down the language used, as most authors claimed that teenage readers could be just as intelligent as adults. Although some words can be too hard to understand, young readers are often able to grasp them based on context.

This is partly why fantasy is so important, especially to younger readers. It helps expand their vocabulary and range of language. James Dashner, author of ‘The Mazerunner’ series, said that his most favored and ‘magical’ time for reading was between the ages 10- 15, where he really realized how powerful writing and words can be. Brandon Sanderson, another famous fantasy author, said that he ironically was uninterested by fantasy until he had to pick a book for a book report. He chose a story ‘the Dragonriders of Pern’ and he liked it because ‘it had cool dragons and helped him understand the world better.’ I think this is important to remember as it shows that for fantasy books to thrive they should include memorable fantasy elements and a good plot that sparks empathy and meaning in true life. I want to replicate both of these elements in my poster- awesome fantasy and magic, but also a believable and emotional plot.

Whilst fantasy is seen as an escape from reality, it can actually include important true-life lessons of topics such as love, family, war, corruption and more- in a world that isn’t our own. This gives teenagers the opportunity to ‘reflect on universal ideals’ in a world that isn’t the one we live in. I think this is powerful in the sense of escapism, but also morals. It sparks creativity, and helps with character analysis and empathy.

Fantasy is the genre of imagination, and imagination is important when it comes to becoming and growing into a young adult.

There are many reasons why reading fantasy novels is important in teenagers. I think it important I know these reasons so I can bare them in mind when it comes to designing and eventually creating a cover for my original fantasy series poster based on my book. That way, I can add hints to the different reasons and learn what I should include to lure in a teenage audience and create something they would find appealing, exciting and original.

Stacked almost as high as my 11-year-old self were copies of JRR Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, with a cover illustration that promised mystery, magic and a place indefinably different from the land of the thin grey light leaking through the windows.’
This is from another source, where the author of the article spoke of how their love for fantasy began when they saw the lord of the rings in a bookshop on a dull day. I like this quote as it really reflects on one of the main reasons I love fantasy and wish to get other teenagers into reading it- the power of escapism and what it can do for your mind. As spoken above, the cover of the book is what awe struck and lured in this particular fantasy fan, as I think it is what lures most people in. This inspires me to make my poster look as other-worldly, different and fantasy-fueled as possible.

The reason I have looked into book covers and fantasy books is I want my poster to have the roots clear- it began from a fantasy novel.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started